Press Release: BIM Sports Magazine – December 2015


In November, 348 participants took part in the 28th edition of the Malta Open at the Topaz Hotel in Bugibba,

In the Men`s Singles competition the winner was Umit Uygunsozlu from Turkey who came from a 1-0 defict to be crowned champion (2-1) against the 2001 World Champion, John Walton. Ann-Kathrin Wigmann from Germany won the womens title by defeating Swede, Krisitin Bomander 4-1. Local pair of Andy Keen and Gordon Stanmore came very close in the Men`s pairs as they lost in the Final, 4-2 against John Walton and John Van de Weerd. At the semi-final stage the Maltese pair eliminated another local pair, that of Godfrey Abela and Mario Camilleri. Ladies pairs title was won by singles winner Ann-Kathrin Wigmann and her partner Silke Goebel defeating Kirsty Gibbs and Janet Weedon 4-2.

Locally it was another good performance for our players as Andy Keen reached the semi-final and Norbert Attard the quarter final in the men`s singles. In the doubles competition as mentioned earlier we had 2 local pairs at the semi-final stage.

To conclude this was another success for the Malta Darts Association as during this edition for the first time ever we stream live all the four finals on the association`s Youtube channel. More information can be found on the Facebook group page “Malta Darts Association”. Would like to thank everyone who helped in making this event a success once again.


Men`s Singles – Quarter Finals
J.Walton 2-0 C.Hargrave
J.Davies 2-1 N.Attard
W.Vermeulen 0-2 U.Uygunsozlu
A.Keen 2-0 M.Howard

Men`s Singles – Semi Finals
J.Walton 2-0 J.Davies
U.Uygunsozlu 2-1 A.Keen

Men`s Singles – Finals
U.Uygunsozlu 2-1 J.Walton

Ladies Singles – Quarter Finals
M.Purvis 0-3 A.Wigmann
J.Layton 3-2 D.McBride
M.Pajala 3-0 H.Letcher
G.Ciofi 0-3 K.Bomander

Ladies Singles – Semi Finals
A.Wigmann 3-1 J.Layton
M.Pajala 1-3 K.Bomander

Ladies Singles – Finals
A.Wigmann 4-1 K.Bomander

Men`s Pairs – Quarter Finals
A.Keen/G.Stanmore 3-0 M.Kipling/L.Blakey
J.Walton/J.Weerd 3-0 D.Prins/G.Dutton
M.Camilleri/G.Abela 3-1 D.Burt/D.Adam
N.Russell/M.Burnes 3-2 P.Smith/K.Deacon

Men`s Pairs – Semi Finals
A.Keen/G.Stanmore 3-0 M.Camilleri/G.Abela
N.Russell/M.Burnes 0-3 J.Walton/J.Weerd

Men`s Pairs – Final
J.Walton/J.Weerd 4-2 A.Keen/G.Stanmore

Ladies Pairs – Quarter Finals
A.Wigmann/S.Goebel 3-0 K.Bispham/V.Hamilton
H.Kirkbride/S.Bode 3-1 D.McBride/M.Pajala
K.Gibbs/J.Weedon 3-1 M.Bower/H.Letcher
K.Bomander/A.Rose 3-1 K.King/L.Perkins

Ladies Pairs – Semi Finals
K.Bomander/A.Rose 2-3 K.Gibbs/J.Weedon
H.Kirkbride/S.Bode 1-3 A.Wigmann/S.Goebel

Ladies Pairs – Final
A.Wigmann/S.Goebel 4-2 K.Gibbs/J.Weedon



After week five of the 8 a-side Division 1, pre-season title contenders are currently occupying the top three spots in the league with Kalkara St. Joseph leading the way on 13 points, followed by Marsa St. Michaels on 11 points and Floriana Ajax a point behind. Marsa St. Michaels and Floriana Ajax are yet to face each other in round one with Kalkara St Joseph collecting 4 points from the direct encounters (win against Floriana and a draw against Marsa). Bormla Bocci Club A and Birzebbugia Cox Sports Bar A have also had good starts to the season with 7 and 6 points collected respectively. Filling in the bottom 3 places are Gudja POs Bar A on 4 points, Hamrun Education Bar A and Birkirkara Juventus Vero Amore on 1 point. (Note: Birzebbugia and Gudja played a match less).

In the 2nd division, four match days have been taken place and currently three teams occupy top spot with maximum points; pre-season favourites Mosta Horseshoe Bar, Gudja POs Bar B and Zejtun Beland Bullseye. Mosta Bocci Club are also unbeaten but have drawn two of their four matches. In the month of December the three mentioned unbeaten teams will all face each other which will give an initial indication of who the mid-season leaders will be.

The first cup competition (4 a-side) has also commenced and four weeks have been played so far. The first stage of this competition is composed of 3 groups: Group A – Teams from Division One with 4 teams qualifying to the knock-out stages and Group B & C composed of teams from Division Two with 2 teams from each group qualifying.

In group A: Floriana Ajax A, Kalkara St Joseph B, Marsa St Michaels A and Kalkara St Joseph B occupy the qualifying places and group B & C: Mosta Horseshoe Bar A, Zejtun Juventutis Domus and Zejtun Beland Bullseye, Mosta Horseshoe Bar B respectively.

On an individual basis the following players have maximum points in the race for the Player of the Year awards.

Division One: Jesmond Grima (Birzebbugia Cox Sports Bar A); John Agius (Floriana Ajax A); Andy Keen (Kalkara St Joseph); Norbert Attard and John Ciantar (Marsa St. Michaels).

Division Two: Louis Barbara and Lillo Sciacia (Zejtun Beland Bullseye); Joe Mallia, Mario Camilleri, Joe Mangion, Godfrey Abela and Albert Scerri (Mosta Horseshoe Bar); Anthony Coreschi and Paul Tucker (Gudja POs Bar B).

Highest Finish: Tony Borg (Floriana Ajax A) – 160.

Most 180s: Andy Keen (Kalkara St Joseph) and John Ciantar (Marsa St Michaels) – 3.

Best Leg: Eight players lead the way – 14.

Finally on behalf of the Association we would like to wish all the local players taking part in the Italian Grand Master open in Bologna, on the 21st-22nd of November. This tournament contains ranking points on the WDF circuit and the winner get an automatic spot on the BDO Winmau World Masters 2016.

Players taking part: Norbert Attard, Brian Abela, Owlyn Abela, John Agius, Kevin Grech, Charles Cauchi, Anthony Borg, Lawrence Spiteri, Stephen Spiteri, Terry Agius.


Andre Zammit | Public Relations Officer | Malta Darts Association